Meet “Shhhtephanie”!

Stephanie

Hey everyone! I thought I would tell you a little about myself and about my blog.

To start out, you are probably wondering why I spelled my name with  “shhh”… My name is

Stephanie Schmitz. Even though I now live in British Columbia, Canada, I was born in Germany. In German, you pronounce my name with a “sh”, which confuses most North Americans. Since my friends have heard my family call my name this way, they will forever  overemphasize this part. I moved to Canada when I was six because my mom wanted to get closer to her family. I love it here in BC and could not imagine living anywhere else, but I do miss Germany and try to go back as often as I can.

After graduating high school I knew right away that I wanted to get into interior design. I enrolled into British Columbia Institute of Technology and started the Part-time Management Certificate for Interior Design. In the beginning it was a lot to take in, but once I got the hang of things I loved it. I completed the Certificate in the Spring of 2012 and am super excited to apply and hopefully start the full-time Diploma Program in September, 2013. Once I get in, it will be 9 months of extremely intense schooling and I will finally graduate with my Diploma. Fingers crossed!

I feel that my passion has always been in design, but I soon realized that I also enjoyed revamping things. To make whatever I had look more appealing and also to create things that look great but won’t cost a fortune to do so. In this blog, I am going to post about Do it Yourself projects (DIY) amongst other things that I love and enjoy doing. I hope you enjoy perusing my little blog.

Leave a Reply

